Obscure jokes

I have a weird and annoying taste for jokes whose humour turns on obscure or technical knowledge. Here are some of my own, and some of other people’s.

My own

Who is the only manatee depicted in the Stations of the Cross?
Simon the Syrenian.

 

Doctor, doctor! I think I’m suffering from slapped cheek syndrome!
It sounds like you need a tonic.

 

I’ve just come up with a New Year’s Resolution:
… → 2017 → 2018 → 2019 → 0

Lucy, you got some ‘splaining of the principles of political economy and taxation to do!

 

The Transformers have just been forced to admit their first black member. Henceforth, Optimus Prime will be known as Optimus plus C.

 

 

Other people’s 

There was a young vicar of Salisbury
Whose manners were Halisbury-Scalisbury.
He roamed about Hampshire
Without any Pampshire
Till the bishop compelled him to Walisbury.

 

What is yellow and equivalent to the axiom of choice?
Every vector space has a basis.

 

PNP P = 0 or N = 1

 

What is a comathematician?
A machine for turning cotheorems into ffee.

(This one particularly delights me because it’s the only joke I’ve ever “solved” – I spent a long while wondering what a cotheorem ought to be, and eventually realised that if a theorem is a proposition that you can derive from your set of axioms then, reversing the arrows, a cotheorem ought to be a proposition you can derive your set of axioms from – in particular, ⊥ should always be a cotheorem.)

 

Jesus is standing protectively over the Woman Taken In Adultery, delivering a stern talking to to the crowd, who are standing around looking a bit shamefaced. “If there be any here among you that is without sin” he declaims “then let them cast the first stone”.

At once, a lump of pumice comes whizzing out of the back of the crowd and hits the woman in the shoulder. Jesus sighs, turns around to address the culprit, rolls his eyes and says “You know, sometimes you really piss me off, mum.”

Leave a comment